An increasing number of people want to buy clothes, shoes and other items produced by famous international brands. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or a negative development?

Many people are attracted towards the popular international brands and wants to purchase their products such as dresses, footwear and other items. This is because of their marketing strategies in social media and in my perspective this can be seen as a negative development as it affects the individual’s mental health by creating high expectations and stress in their lives.

Advertisements are the best way to create a positive feeling of the product. These days, manufacturing companies are investing their money and time on social media platforms to get a creative output of their products. By seeing these, we are encouraged to buy their products thinking they are the best in the industry. If you see, in applications like youtube and instagram, we always see the paid promotions done by the famous influencers. For instance, korean skincare essentials become very famous all over the world because of the short videos produced by content creators.

In my view, these strategies of marketing could create a negative impacts in everyone’s life. In the past days, we never used these brands but we were quite happy and satisfied with our own commodities. But because of this social media and other e-commerce websites, organisations are provoking the people indirectly to purchase their products. Also, people thought these materialistic things as prestige and purchasing even if they do not have any money. For example, teenagers are forcing their parents to buy iphones and expensive products just to show off infront of their friends and family. Because of these, many parents are struggling and eventually affects their mental health.

To conclude, this seems to be affecting the humans negatively because people are purchasing the products even if they could not afford them by giving more importance to the materialistic items.