Animal testing for medical research is never justified. Do you agree or disagree?

In modern societies, animal testing has become a matter of considerable debate. According to some people, experiments on animals cannot be ethically justified. I agree with this opinion, contending that it is a form of cruelty, and there are a lot of alternatives available. However, there are arguments that deserve consideration on both sides in this essay, and I am going to explain my opinion with substantial examples.

The foremost argument to justify my stand is that even in early history, it has been known that animals and humans have very similar physiology and that they are both living sentient creatures, which means this kind of research can be very painful for them. In my opinion, the ethics of animal testing should be questioned, and animal rights and their welfare standards should be protected since they are not able to resist this kind of testing. Secondly, one notable factor is that despite these similarities, our bodies’ reaction to various substances can be very different from theirs; studies suggest that animal testing does not always accurately predict human outcomes. Therefore, research will lead to animal suffering and simultaneously will not give precise and 100% correct results.

On the other hand, there is a perception that experimenting on animals is ethical because of the merits to medicine and the prolongation of human life. Today, most of the vaccines for maladies like COVID-19, HIV, Scarlet fever, and medications for life-threatening illnesses are tested on animals. Another significant point is that, admittedly, there are laws, organizations, and stringent restrictions which play a crucial role in the regulation of research. To illustrate, humane handling, housing, and veterinary care are some of the requirements, and industries that don’t have vital importance, such as cosmetics and skin-care industries, are banned from doing animal testing in most European countries.

In conclusion, despite the benefits of animal testing, it should not be considered acceptable; governments and scientists should concentrate on developing and formulating alternatives that protect animal life.