Answering the right question and planning your response In many countries children are engaged in some kind of paid work. Some people regard this as completely wrong, while others consider it as valuable work experience, important for learning and taking responsibility. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that children should not take on part-time jobs while others believe that it is crucial for the younger generation to gain work experiences, learning and taking responsibilities. This essay will first closely examine both viewpoints before concluding that I argue with the latter.

On the one hand, it is justifiable for some to claim that participating in part-time jobs negatively affects children’s growth. This is mainly because students usually do manual labors which work some basic and simple tasks. These jobs have fewer relevant work experience, being necessary to their work in the future. As a result, they waste time on dead-end paid jobs instead of studying to gain better academic performance. For example, China teenagers usually take on waiters, which have some experiences, not relating to the field you study. This example shows that children spend a lot of time on unnecessary jobs instead of focusing on their academic.

However, I would argue that paid jobs can negatively affect children’s growth. The primary reason is that the younger generation can gain valuable experiences. They are exposed to different workplace environments ,which help them develop numerous personal skills such as communication skills, problem-solving skills, and critical thinking skills, expanding their career opportunities. For instance, Vietnamese children usually participate in tutor jobs, gaining interpersonal skills; as a result, they can develop useful skills to gain a competitive edge in the job market. In addition, children learn to take responsibilities for their jobs by arriving at work on time, and completing assigned tasks.

In conclusion, while there are justifications for working is unnecessary for children. I would contend that working plays an important role in developing valuable experiences and being in charge.