Around the world more and more people are living in urban areas.why is this? And what problems does this cause?

With the development of cities, it has become increasingly common for individuals, irrespective of cultural background, to live in urban areas. While this can be attributed to the confluence of professional and emotional factors, I believe that this situation likely to pose a number of challenges associated with accommodation and air pollution.

One of the reasons for people flocking to cities from rural areas is opportunity to take on a good job responsibility. It is true that it is quite difficult for individuals to embark on a good career and to be promoted in rural areas. Although a growing competition among job employees in large cities, recruitment services there allow people to earn a good living. Another factor that leads people to go to urban areas is emotional fulfillment. A recent research, for example, has shown that people in urban areas are more satisfied with their life, since big organizations in cities provide high-paid jobs.

Air pollution and homelessness have been big issues for cities in the past century. It is evident that a flow of people going to cities will only exacerbate this situation. Despite people’s willing to land a well-paid job, they should take into account the possibility of them losing everything they have, as no one even government cannot guarantee anything. Air pollution is another are of concern because there will be a high demand for public and private transports to cope with a huge number of people. More vehicles on the roads, more gas emissions are released. A good illustration of these problems is New York city which is in recent years considered as one of the most pollutant megapolises. Year by year a number of homeless people there is significantly increasing, since the city cannot deal with this growing issue.

In conclusion, while there are several reasons regarding practical and personal factors for people preferring urban areas to rural ones, this trend may cause the environmental and social problems in the near future.