Art and music classes should not be mandatory at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Art and music ought not to not be compulsory at school. In my view, I disagree with this idea because I think art classes can foster creativity and help students to relieve stress.

To begin with, art and music classes can boost students’ creativity by giving them chances to apply the theories they’ve learned from textbooks and put them into practice to create original works based on their own ideas. For example, in art classes, students might first learn how to draw a body from a book and then be encouraged to create their own unique body drawings. This process can help students develop their creative thinking skills and come up with their own original ideas.

Secondly, it is an opportunity for students to relieve stress. Because at school they have to absorb a large amount of knowledge from many subjects such as Maths or Literature and causing them to feel stressed and fatigued. Therefore, music and art classes are the best time for students to unwind after studying stressfully owing to many interesting activities such as singing a song.

To sum up, art and music courses in the school play a vital role for students since it can raise their creativity and alleviate stress.