Art lessons are important as others so they should made compulsory.

Some people think that art courses are as essential as other lessons and plays a key role in children’s development so they should be made obligatory to attend for every student. While, joining art classes may increase creativity and may be a relaxing activity for a student that eases their mind, I think that making art courses mandatory is not a good idea because studying these subjects takes too much time from students and if a student do not have a talent required than they may experience negative fillings towards it.

It is believed that art lessons enhance creativity. When an art teacher gives a task to draw certain objects or natural landscapes students have to use their ability to imagine. By triggering their brains to create beauty, students may learn a skill which may be useful in the long term. To illustrate, in the future students may use creativity in job fields such as designing, making logos, or finding slogans for a company. Additionally, some people believe that art lessons have a calming effect. Drawing a painting, singing a song or playing an instrument in art lessons is not too demanding and doing them may feel restful. This may be beneficial as being in a calm state is better for academic performance of a student. To clarify, students who attend more challenging subjects such as math, chemistry, physics may feel motivated due to the relaxation after art lessons.

On the other hand, everyone are not same and making art courses enforced may backfire. The first reason is because these subjects take considerable amount of time which is not good for a students academic progress. To expound, learners have difficult STEM subjects which are more essential for their academic life Solving math problems, memorizing chemical elements or learning physic rules are complex. Further, despite being soft subjects, arts also can take precious time which could be dedicated to more important subjects. As a result, students have less time and can perform poorly in more cognitively demanding subjects. Secondly, some students have a natural talent making art however others can experience difficulty doing it. Those who find subjects challenging can experience negative feelings such as desopointment and discouragement . Moreover, they can envy students who do better in arts. Above all, making arts “must to attend” for struggling students can worsen the situation. For example, if a student hates this subject because of inability they can experience negative feelings towards their peers and art teachers. In the long term, this discouragement can affect their atatude towards learning systems and they can show rebellious behaviour. Which is not good for academic performance overall.

In conclusion, despite some positive opinions of art lessons as being creative and relaxing activity, I believe that arts are not as essential subjects as others and enforcing them in a curriculum is not crucial because they take time which can be directed to other important lessons and some students may not have talent to enjoy arts with may lead to hatred.