With the development of online media, there is no future for the radio. To what extent do you agree?

In the contemporary world, it is widely believed that enhancement of digital media would make radio irrelevant. Although I partially agree that online media appears to be more accessible and advantageous in everyday life compared to the radio, it is less reliable in case of an emergency than the radio.

It is undeniable that internet-based media is more available and beneficial in daily life in comparison with the radio. Firstly, there are far more sources of electronic media worldwide, therefore implying its greater availability. Secondly, digital media offers limitless content and visual features which perfectly adapts to user preferences and improves the perception of data. For example, if you want to watch a football game, you will likely choose internet-based media rather than the radio due to additional visual content. Hence, it suggests that online media gives more opportunities to users compared to the radio.

On the other hand, while digital media sources usually do not operate properly in bad weather conditions and emergency situations, radio remains the most reliable way to stay tuned. First of all, radio does not require an internet connection unlike online media, as it works by broadcasting signals over-the-air from resilient transmitter sites. Secondly, radio transmits information rapidly, which allows people to communicate and exchange information effortlessly in case of an emergency. For instance, if a natural disaster strikes, it will be advantageous to use a radio in order to send emergency messages. Thus, it suggests that the radio is worthy of use in case of an emergency rather than online media.

To conclude, in general, online media is more common and beneficial compared to the radio. However, the radio likely would not lose its relevance due to its higher reliability.