In many countries, truancy* is a worrying problem for both parents and educators. What are the causes of truancy? What solutions can schools and parents do to reduce this behaviour?

The number of students skipping classes is an issue in many educational institutions worldwide. Parents and teachers have the challenge to change this behavior to improve students’ education. The causes of this phenomenon rely on the students’ willingness to avoid following rules and school responsibilities and look for fun at the time of class. To tackle these problems, teachers should lead courses in which students can have moments of fun and do not feel undue pressure to succeed; parents should support this measure by not being too demanding with their children.

Teachers should create a classroom environment that includes the course demands and also dedicate time for fun. Consequently, students do feel that being at school is an obligation that only comprises following rules and passing tests. Educators should include a sense of relaxation and flexibility with the course requirements, fostering a enjoyable class environment. For instance, the English subject in many countries includes games as part of their weekly assignments, such as Bingo and Jeopardy. Indeed, students usually enjoy this type of class and ask educators to repeat them.

Furthermore, parents should not put undue pressure in their children to succeed at school. As a result, students feel a certain level of freedom to comply with school requirements. Parents who are highly controlling risk promoting truancy in their children because of the soffocating reality created around school life. Psychological studies show that to promote responsible students, parents need to give a certain amount of freedom to their children, supervising and supporting them with everything they need.

In conclusion, students truancy stem from their desire to avoid responsibilities and school rules and have fun outside the school. To counteract these causes, educators should teach courses that foster a fun class environment; similarly, parents should not place undue pressure in their children, motivating them to comply with school requirements. Educational institutions should finance specific teacher training courses to help teachers create classes more engaging for the students, reducing truancy as a result.