With the development of online media, there is no future for the radio. To what extent do you agree?

As technology advances day by day, some people argue that there is no place for radio in the future because social media and online platforms will replace it. I completely agree with the said notion as online media has paramount advantages compared to the radio.

On the one hand, radio is extremely limited in its context, as people are not able to choose or search what they want to listen. This, indeed, deteriorates people’s experience with radios. Conversely, social media offers lots of personalized context and resources, and individuals can check it up instantly. For this specific reason, media serves to a wider range of audience which is not the case with the radio. Additionally, videos in platforms, such as YouTube and Instagram, provide people with more engaging context. Compared to this, what radio offers is a simple audio experience.

On the other hand, size of the radios is the second drawback. For just listening to some music, it may simply be overwhelming for a person to carry a box sized gadget everywhere. Phones, however, eliminate this factor as they are pocket-sized computers and central in everyone’s life. Nobody needs old radios or photograph machines for listening to music and taking photos, respectively. Mobile phones are more convenient and beneficial in every aspect, including better access to media.

In conclusion, I believe that radio will lose its identity to its modern rivals, phones. Despite the fact that they were once irreplaceable part of our daily lives, now phones occupy that place.