Artificial intelligence will soon replace teachers in the classroom Do you agree with this statement? What is an alternative to traditional face-to-face teaching?

In recent times, it’s expected that Artificial Intelligence will gradually replace teachers in educational settings. This essay disagrees with the statement that AI can efficiently take the place of teachers in classrooms. Additionally, the traditional face to face teaching can be taken over by online or e-learning.

The replacement of educators by Artificial Intelligence is unlikely to occur because of the lack of skillset built over the years and the teacher-student relationship, which allows a student to be aware of their passion and dreams. Artificial Intelligence can be used to help aid an educator in their teaching journey but it can never replace an actual teacher because they have years of experience which allows them to asses a students’s weakness and strength, and guide them so they can learn better.Furthermore, a teacher can emotionally motivate a student when they are in need of emotional support and give advice on their future plans and actions which cannot be done by A.I. For example, Chatgpt can help a student learn a topic better but it can never teach it from scratch like a teacher would by breaking down content and using proper analogies.Moreover, A.I can always be prone to error whereas, a professor has honed their skills and harnessed knowledge for many years.

Traditional teaching can easily be changed in to online learning as a means to save money and time. Not only does online learning safe time by excusing both the teacher and student from hour long traffic in the roads, but also saves money as they do not have to spend their hard earned cash on public transport or gas. Additionally, e-learning is a great way to teach, if the teacher is adept in using computers and e-learning platforms. If a teacher is skilled enough in teaching then online-learning should not be a barrier for them as many resources such as whiteboard and one-notes also allows the same actions of that of an actual board. For example, Many students during online learning during coronavirus epidemic actually experienced better focus as they didn’t have to worry about traffic or extra fees.

In conclusion, AI can never truly replace teachers in schools and colleges, because it lacks the ability of a teacher to assess a student’s individual skills and the repertoire a teacher has built up over the years. Additionally, instead of fully replacing teachers with AI, technology can help their teaching process with the help of e-learning allowing both time and money to be saved.