Artificial intelligence will soon replace teachers in the classroom Do you agree with this statement? What is an alternative to traditional face-to-face teaching?

There would be a point in time where the way to which education is delivered would move from humans to artificial intelligence. I agree with this statement because fewer people are not expressing an interest in the teaching profession. Therefore, it should be important to apply more hands-on work as a substitute to face-to-face learning.

I believe that the main reason for AI to eventually replace teachers is due to the lack of interest in the job. The process to become a qualified educator takes years of studying and training and even that may not translate to what they would experience when they are hired. If education is an important criteria in obtaining a career and there are few teachers, then AI would be needed to fill that void. For instance, the education sector in the United States is suffering from a teacher shortage and things have become worse due to the COVID-19 pandemic. As such, AI technology was integrated into the curriculum to alleviate the strain.

To combat this problem, more practical sessions could be the better option instead of face-to-face education. The traditional method of teaching limits class interaction to only a few persons who are intrigued in the subject, but, a hand-on approach would ensure all students are engaged and participating. Additionally, they would be able to retain more information on the lessons properly. A study conducted in Trinidad and Tobago showed that when the Chemistry syllabus was adjusted to include more practical work, the number of students passing the subject had increased.

In conclusion, if people continue to not care about becoming educators, they system would have no choice but to use artificial intelligence. In order to avoid that scenario, adding practical sessions is one way of filling in for face-to-face learning.