Artists need a certain amount of freedom to develop their creativity. Some people think that artists should have total freedom to express any thoughts and ideas. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is advocated by few people that artists should enjoy creative freedom to nurture and develop their thoughts, I am of the opinion that while artists should be entitled to adequate freedom however, the expressed thoughts and ideas should be within the boundaries of social and moral ethics.

Art in any form, such as painting, music, theatre aims to depict the creator’s perspective to the broader audience, which has in the past served as both eye openers as well as influenced a lot of minds to various changes. For example, artists have persistently advocated equal rights for women, rights for the socially oppressed, inclusion and diversity of varied forms. This eventually has evolved people’s thoughts and perspectives and furthermore influenced even laws of the land. Thus, “Art” undoubtedly is a key form of expression and artists should be given a freehand to be able to express their thoughts without limitations around any given subject.

Nevertheless, it is crucial that the artistic works do not trigger social discord and provoke violence and they should be bound by moral and social values. Moreover, artists enjoy a wider reach, thanks to social media, as their work can be published online within fractions of seconds, which makes it more crucial that they act with additional responsibility. Without that check, the public could be faced with dire consequences as a result of “freedom”. For example, an artform which depicted a Goddess in nudity by a famous artist, provoked communal disturbances and led to a lot of casualties, which could have been averted had the artist acted within certain norms.

To conclude, while I believe that artists should be given adequate liberty in expressing their work, however, they should act within certain set boundaries, realizing that greater freedom calls for greater responsibility.