Artists need a certain amount of freedom to develop their creativity. Some people think that artists should have total freedom to express any thoughts and ideas. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Having been frequently recognized as partially oppressed, many artists claim more freedom. Though some people advocate a so-called no-boundary approach towards those who are creative, I have rather a balanced opinion on the issue. This essay will scrutinize points for and against possible limitations for artists regarding expressing ideas.

On the one hand, restrictions do demotivate artistic folks to some extent. Initially, masters who are allowed to explore and express ideas as fully as they can appear more likely to produce original and mind-blowing pieces: through non-trivial means and techniques many masterpieces, especially those spotlighting sharp issues, have ignited definite positive trends in the broad masses. Additionally, with more and more advanced means coupled with high-tech inventions, vectors for contemporary artists to evolve grow constantly. For example, digital or AI-assisted art has come into vogue that broadens horizons unimaginably. Hence, the more limits one puts on artists, the less dynamic social progress will be.

On the other hand, absolute freedom may provoke abuses and entail unwanted consequences. Firstly, the Internet has ushered in the ion of globalization; therefore, artists who express impolite notions or promote radical thoughts can harm individuals or even nations due to the social resonance. Secondly, being partially funded by taxpayers, those practising fine art should remember their responsibilities and let some oversight be present since their projects are meant to align with societal values and cultivate ethics. Thus, it is crucial that certain guidelines be clarified to maintain social stability, while still allowing robust artistic development.

To sum up, in my view, what can integrate a vibrant and dynamic artistic community organically into the modern world is a balanced and sober approach. While acknowledging freedom as one of our innate rights, I assume that the potential threats stemming from the modern media world itself impose certain obligations on all of us and even more so on prominent influencers.