As a country develops, people tend to buy more cars. Do the advantages for the individual outweigh the disadvantages for the environment?

As the years go by, technology improves and becomes more common in our everyday life. Recently, there have been arguments about whether people buying more vehicles is for the better or the worse for the community. Personally, I am convinced that people shouldn’t just buy new cars unless they really need them.

On the one hand, one significant disadvantage of buying more cars is that it causes traffic congestion, which is one of the major problems in the city side, as people reach their destination later than they should. Furthermore, cars usually use fuel such as gas, which produces CO2 (carbon dioxide) when consumed by the car, so more cars on the road mean more CO2 emissions, which is one of the biggest reasons causing global warming. Another disadvantage of having more cars on the road is that there are increased chances of an accident happening since there are more people on the road.

On the other hand, one notable advantage of having more cars is that people have greater freedom about where and when to go, as they don’t need to wait for someone else, which makes them more independent as individuals. Additionally, as cars continue to develop, they tend to use less fuel per kilometer than before, so buying more cars isn’t as bad regarding the global warming problem.

In conclusion, even though people need more freedom and independence in their lives, I truly believe that people should just use public transport instead, as they are still deciding when and where to go, while still helping with the environmental problems.