As a country develops, people tend to buy more cars. Do the advantages for the individual outweigh the disadvantages for the environment?

In a developing country, cars are the used as the most common mode for transportation which leads to more purchasing of cars. While there are many benefits of having a car but at the same time there are many disadvantages. In this essay, we will discuss both of them and compare which is more dominant.

To start with, in the modern world, we observe new technologies everyday which can also be applied in case of cars. Nowadays people use cars for almost all the work such going to work, going for shopping, dropping kids to school. This made an easy life for the individuals. Moreover, today we can see in every houshold each person have their own cars for their own usage. Having a car can save a lot of time for individuals such as one do not need to wait for the public transport to get somewhere. In many countries, individuals also have bikes as a median of tranportation.

On the other hand, while having a car can have benefits for the people, but at the same time, it has many disadvantages. In urban areas almost all the individuals carry a car with themselves which could cause damage to environment. Today we can see a rise in air pollution in majority of countries. In addition noise pollution can also be a factor when you live near a buy street or urban areas. To outcome the air pollution, many countries have now switched to electric cars which can cause less pollution as compared to petrol vehicles.

To conclude, while it is true that having a car can have so many benefits but at the same time individuals should think about the environment and public transports can be used where possible.