As a country develops, people tend to buy more cars. Do the advantages for the individual outweigh the disadvantages for the environment?

In contemporary society, there is a substantial debate about buying vehicles versus the environment. Many of them believed that more vehicles are helpful for individual prosperity or freedom. However, what influence has this decision for nature, pollution, and fresh air? In my essay, I will discuss the benefits for people and after that the negative impact for the whole society.

Deforestation, industrialization and travelling significantly damage the quality of the air. Especially, using motor vehicles is harmful to the planet. The British research from 2024, focused on comparing air quality from 1900 and 2024. The comprehensive study revealed that oxygen is mixed with many heavy metals, which has a marked impact on the health of the population. For example, in 1900, 20 lung carcinomas occurred in 100 people. In contrast, nowadays, this proportion has changed to 75 per cent of them have suffered from this illness. This is because more cars, more pollution, and dirty air.

The main advantage of faster transport is using cars. In a fast-paced life, this mechanism should help people manage their lives quickly and help save their time. People prefer moving out from busy towns to the villages. Moreover, in households are more than one car, which contributes to their freedom. Teenagers do not need their parents anymore and they can spend a longer time at work. For instance, our family live in the suburbs. If my children want to attend a swimming lesson or go to school they can take their car and are independent from me. In this fact, I can work longer and earn more money, which contributes to the higher wealthy of our family. However, by using public transport we can improve and help nature be healthy for everyone.

In conclusion, my behaviour is selfish because of independence. On the other hand, if I or other people make decisions to travel by bus, we could enhance the quality of air, which leads to decreasing the harmful substances in oxygen. Consequently, the trend of buying more vehicles has more disadvantages for nature and future generations.