As a result of tourism, some historical building and sites are being damaged beyond repair. What could be done to prevent this?

It appears that there are plenty of places for tourists to explore rich cultural and natural attractions. However, an overwhelming number of visitors often brings about the deterioration of historical landmarks and cultural heritage sites. So, what is the reason? Is tourism ruining our culture? Is it the passage of time? Is it the lack of care? Or is it only because someone disrespects the rules? In this essay I will discuss the issue and suggest the way to avoid the damage.

The major problem is many explorers do not show respect for the traditions and rules of the locals or communities. For example, in Thailand’s national temple, there are strict rules to follow: do not climb the temple and do not damage the natural environment. There were countless reports of tourism disrupting the rules by climbing an antique temple for a photo and posting it on Facebook. It seemed promoted in a way that made people believe it was okay and caused others to copy the behavior. Moreover, historic buildings themselves become fragile over time, such as a temple in Ayudthaya that was built over 100 years ago. Therefore, it is essential for travelers to respect the cultural value. The responsible authority should protect it: limit the number of visitors to historical sites and make the rules more stringent by assigning guards to enforce and guide visitors on what is allowed and what is prohibited.

To summarize, tourism is beneficial to the country’s financial system and contributes to economic growth. However, it must be properly regulated by law owing to the significant damage caused by tourism: erosion of ancient stone structures from frequent foot traffic and structural weakening due to overcrowding.