As a result of tourism and the increasing number of people travelling, there is an growing demand for more flights. What problems does this have on the environment? What measures could be taken to solve the problems?

Air travel has continuously been increasing in recent years, as a result of the development of tourism and the growing demand for long-distance travel. This can negatively affect several aspects of life, especially the environment. This essay will discuss the problems of this issue and then propose some measures to address it.

The booming development of the aviation industry puts a strain on the ecosystem. To begin with, flight engines nowadays commonly run on fossil fuels which would be excessively exploited to meet the growing demand of air travel. Therefore, those types of non-renewable energy will run out in the long run, and there will be no natural resources for the future generations. Additionally, air pollution is inevitable as a result of the toxic fume emission such as carbon monoxide and carbon dioxide from burning fossil fuels, which significantly contributes to the deterioration of the ozone layer. Hence, severe phenomenons such as global warming and natural disasters will disturb the natural habitat of a wide range of species.

To address this issue, It is recommended that the government leverage the tax on airline companies, which translates into higher airline ticket prices, thereby discouraging passengers from relying excessively on flying. Additionally, authorities can conduct educational campaigns to raise people’s awareness of the negative that air travel has on the environment and encourage them to switch to more environmentally-friendly vehicles. Simultaneously, each individual should utilize renewable sources of energy such as solar and wind energy on a daily basis, which will drastically limit the toxic fumes released to the atmosphere as well as reduce the pressure on natural resources.

In conclusion, the increasingly growing demand for flights among passengers has led to severe depletion of natural resources and the loss of wild habitats.To tackle this serious problem, the government should increase flying tax to control the numbers of air travels, as well as improve people’s awareness through educational campaigns. In addition, each individual needs to change the daily routines to minimize the toxic emission to the environment.