As a result of tourism and the increasing number of people travelling, there is an growing demand for more flights. What problems does this have on the environment? What measures could be taken to solve the problems?

Nowadays, people are increasingly opting to travel to other countries, leading to a rise in demand for flights. This essay will explore several problems relating to this phenomenon and suggest a range of options that can be taken to alleviate the issue.

On the one hand, the trend towards people’s increased demand for air travel can result in some negative impacts on our environment. Firstly, one of the major factors causing environmental pollution is the excessive amount of fuel used to operate the plane, which can contaminate the atmosphere. For example, as more flights need to be performed to fulfill people’s travel appetite, more gasoline will be consumed, which may increase the amount of toxic gases like CO2 released into the air. Secondly, the expansion of airports can contribute to deforestation because trees will be cut down in large numbers to make room for the construction of boarding areas and departures. This gives rise to the degradation of habitat and a decline in food resources, leading to biodiversity loss across the globe.

However, I believe that there are several actions that the government and our society can take to tackle these environmental problems. To begin with, the authorities should focus on developing many measures to optimize airways and reduce flight hours. Researching the shortest way to travel between countries can not only help make use of gasoline more efficiently and economically but also minimize extensive CO2 release, improving the air quality. Additionally, ordinary people, through mitigating their frequency of travel, can also greatly contribute to addressing these environmental issues. Individuals can spend their vacation in nearby areas, so they can travel by bus or train instead of airplane in order to protect our environment.

In conclusion, I acknowledge that the increasing need for air travel can pose challenges to the environment, such as air pollution and deforestation, while the government and each individual can take many measures to alleviate these problems.