As compared to the past, children these days spend more of their leisure time indoors with computers and TV and less time outdoors. Describe some of the problems this lack of outdoor leisure time can cause and suggest at least one possible solution.

Nowadays, children spend less time engaging in outdoor activities compared to the past. This essay examines some problems that this phenomenon might bring about and actions that our society can take to mitigate these problems.

Several concerns can be anticipated as children spend less time engaging in outdoor activities. Firstly, there’s a risk of decline in children’s physical strength. When they do outdoor activities like soccer and running, they would gain strength, but indoor activities such as playing video games or watching TV would not provide them the same physical strength. Secondly, there’s a challenge in developing social skills for children. Outdoor activities often involve interaction with others, fostering social bonds and communication skills. However, if they spend more time indoors with solitary activities, they would lose opportunities for social interaction. Therefore, they could not learn social skills.

In order to tackle these problems, various measures can be taken. Firstly, parents should encourage outdoor activities with their children. When parents spend time with children, they should do outdoor activities and teach children how to do the activities independently. This measure would solve the decline of children’s physical strength. Secondly, parents should facilitate opportunities for their children to interact with others. For instance, children often gather at parks which are equipped with various attractions such as swings and slides, as they enjoy playing on these structures. Parents should take their children to such parks and allow them to play freely while supervising from a distance. Through their play, children naturally communicate with each other. Therefore, this measure can help mitigate the lack of social skills.

In conclusion, the reduction in outdoor leisure time have some negative impacts on children, but parents can take steps to solve these problems.