As compared to the past, children these days spend more of their leisure time indoors with computers and TV and less time outdoors. Describe some of the problems this lack of outdoor leisure time can cause and suggest at least one possible solution.

As compared to the past, children these days spend more of their leisure time indoors with computers and TV and less time outdoors. Describe problems this lack of outdoor leisure time can cause and suggest solutions.

Nowadays more and more children spend their free time not outdoors, but at home or somewhere indoors with their tablets, computers, or even watching TV. Habits like this cause several problems and need to be solved in a short period.

First of all, the more time children spend indoors the less vitamin D they get, as a result, they can have psychological issues because of the lack of this vitamin, even depression. Not spending time outdoors also means less communication with friends or other people, less physical activity, less fresh air, fewer games, less creativity, less ability to cope with problems, etc. For example, kids playing outdoors with friends develop communication skills, explore nature, and become more confident. From the point of view of health, they are usually fit and do not have obesity issues.

Furthermore, this problem needs a fast solution, to help the new generation to be healthier in physical and psychological aspects. The main role here is parents, who can help their children to be interested in playing outdoors, control the time kids play with smartphones, tablets, or watching TV, sometimes play with them in the yard, etc. Also, the government can implement more outdoor activities like camping, weekend outdoor games, lessons in nature, etc. into school programs. There can be organized outdoor sports competitions among schools with prizes, so children will be more interested in playing them.

In conclusion, spending time outdoors is crucial for children in many aspects, such as health, stress relief, communication, happiness level, etc. However, parents must be interested in encouraging their children to spend more time outdoors and less at home.