AS COMPUTERS TRANSLATE QUICKLY AND ACCURATELY, SOME PPL THINK THAT LEARNING A FOREIGN LANGUAGE IS A WASTE OF TIME. TO WHAT EXTENT DO U AGREE OR DISAGREE?v

There is a growing debate over whether computers and AI can translate easily and quickly hence, learning a foreign language is unnecessary. I disagree with this opinion because, if people learn foreign languages they can learn other countries culture and it promotes international understanding.

There are two main benefits of using translation tools. First and foremost, it is convenient and time saving since people do not allocate more time to translation. It helps instant translation and accuracy in translation. This is mainly because, AI or translation software is able to translate easily and quickly. As a consequence, people save their time and managed to do other things. Moreover, it can facilitate communication because, more and more people face some language dilemmas such as don’t know synonyms and grammar mistakes. Nevertheless, computer translation bridges language barriers. It can increase people’s interest in this language. However, if people translate easily by translations, they cannot fully understand and learn this language.

There are two main drawbacks of computer translations. Firstly, it hinders language acquisition since people learn language by memorizing words and translate them. Using computer tools, which have adverse impacts on people’s development and learning. It leads to dependence on tools. This, in turn, over-reliance may weaken cognitive skills. Furthermore, if people translate easily by translations they will encounter lack of cultural understanding. This is mainly because they don’t engage in studies since, they use tools. Not only do people want to cheat on their studies, but also they use translations. For example, In China teachers and parents disallow using translations because, it is illegal for them. Hence, their students are able to learn foreign languages without difficulties. It is worth noting that China is the most educationally developed country in the world.

In conclusion, in today’s world learning languages is unnecessary because there are a lot of translation tools. I disagree with this opinion because people cannot learn foreign countries culture and computer translation hinders language acquisition.