AS COMPUTERS TRANSLATE QUICKLY AND ACCURATELY, SOME PPL THINK THAT LEARNING A FOREIGN LANGUAGE IS A WASTE OF TIME. TO WHAT EXTENT DO U AGREE OR DISAGREE?v

With machine translation becoming increasingly fast and accurate, some view language learning as an unnecessary use of time. However, I disagree that learning languages is a waste of time. This is because machines cannot replicate emotions and body language. Additionally, learning a foreign language helps speakers develop linguistic identity.

One reason I believe that quick and accurate translating machines do not devalue learning languages is that translation involves more than just text – it also carries emotions and body language that machines cannot replicate. Physical behaviors including body language and facial expressions play a vital role in communication, often occurring without conscious awareness. Although auto-translating apps can recognize the speech and translate in the blink of an eye, this often results in robotic translation, deprived of meaning coming from, for instance, facial expressions, body posture, gestures, eye movement, touch and the use of space.

Another reason why I believe learning languages is not a waste of time is that knowing a foreign language forms a new linguistic identity. This is because translation is not a sole reason for learning languages as language is not simply an assortment of words but an entity that plays a crucial role in shaping an individual’s personality. As a result, knowing a language gives us a new worldview, making us more aware of the cultures, lifestyles, customs and beliefs of other people. For example, Russian speakers who have two colour terms to describe light and dark blue – “siniy” and “goluboi” – are more prone to see these two colours as more similar after living for long periods of time in the UK, where these two colours are described in English by the same colour term: blue.

In conclusion, I strongly disagree that machine translation devalues mastering a foreign language. This is because however accurate machine translation is, knowing the language allows for understanding not only a range of emotions expressed, but also how it feels to live in that culture.