As computers translate quickly and accurately, learning foreign languages is a waste of time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that acquiring a new tongue is time-consuming because of the convenience and accuracy of translated appliances. While using these tools brings some benefits to people, I disagree with this statement because of some negative effects on people’s awareness and work ethic.

Computers with machine translation functions allow people to understand and converse with foreigners smoothly. However, like a double-edged sword, these tools can cause detrimental studying habits in people, especially youngsters. Over-dependence on translation appliances can be caused, meaning that they find it effortless to think and comprehend profoundly about the foreign language on their own. For example, when students face a misunderstanding of international documents, they are likely to copy and paste those words into tools and get results in their mother tongue after a few seconds, which does not create any chances for them to proactively figure out both the language and document.

Furthermore, I believe that studying a new language is never a waste of time. Acquiring a tongue is a valuable opportunity for people to learn about their nation’s culture and customs, not only the language. Learning a language is a long journey, one in which people must allocate their time to devotedly learn this tongue from beginner to fluent communication. Moreover, studying a language allows learners to practice their reflection and conversation in that tongue, which is the core value of learning a foreign language. Then, they can easily connect with foreigners, and access a majority of international articles, or global news which can serve their work and study.

In conclusion, reliance on translation appliances can bring many drawbacks to people’s awareness. They should allocate time to learn new languages for their long-term goals and use translation software in a suitable and efficient way.