As computers translate quickly and accurately, learning foreign languages is a waste of time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely recognized that computers play a vital role in translating foreign languages nowadays, with some saying it is time-consuming. However, in this essay, I will challenge this school of thought

Granted, one might argue that it is unnecessary to acquire new languages in our modern day. This is predicated on the assumption that due to the advent of technology, people can easily translate text instantly with high accuracy, which suggests that they can understand all words. As a result, these individuals can save a lot of time compared to the lengthy process of pursuing additional languages. However, this line of reasoning is not sound because people do not always have access to computers, as is evident during flights or on public transport. Moreover, in scenarios such as negotiating contracts with foreign businesses, conveying tone, emotions and non-verbal elements, all of which are very important to sign a contract, which can not be seen by using computers.

I am convinced that the benefits of mastering other languages are more significant. Firstly, this can significantly enhance cognitive and problem-solving skills.. According to leading scientists in the USA, studying foreign languages improves brain functions, including the improvement of memory and the ability to concentrate. In addition to this, mastering various languages paves the way for career opportunities, which enables individuals to access global markets and job positions requiring multi-languages. For example, many companies are likely to recruit employees, who can communicate in different languages, because they can act as cultural bridges between international teams. This feat would not be achieved solely through the use of computer translations.

In conclusion, it is absurd to say that allocating time to pursue other languages is unproductive activity. This is because new languages help enhance logical and critical thinking, as well as securing lucrative jobs.