As countries become more industrialised, more people move from the countryside into urban areas. What are some problems caused by this and how can we solve them?

In this day and age, worldwide industrialization directly results in increasing figures in respect of urbanization. Such a tendency implies several burning problems; yet, most of them might be handled by taking wise and serious steps.

Admittedly, the very fact that a growing number of individuals born in the countryside decide to reside in cities and metropolises leads to several significant issues of different kinds. To begin with, fewer and fewer people are willing to work in farms and fields. This, in turn, results in a shortage of agricultural production and, therefore, the prices for meat, vegetables, fruit and dairy products soar, inasmuch as demand begins to significantly exceed supply, thereby activating the very basic economic principles that affect price formation in the market. Additionally, another problem that stems from the discussed tendency is that many regions in a country start to develop and grow disproportionately: economic activity in cities thrives, while some rural areas become economically depressed, causing a number of other subsequent issues. Moreover, the populations in villages and small towns are growing older and shrinking. However, cities, in contrast, become overpopulated, with traffic congestion occurring on the city roads and public places becoming too crowded.

However serious the predicaments outlined above may be, most of them could be dealt with via a series of sensible measures. First of all, agricultural processes could be automated and modernized, requiring fewer workers to complete mundane, physically demanding tasks and increasing the volumes of harvest without the need to employ many people, which seems to be utterly problematic owing to the discussed rural-to-urban migration. Yet, innovative machines and technologies required for said modernization will certainly necessitate highly qualified specialists, thereby making working in agriculture more prestigious and better-paid. Another reasonable solution that could tackle some of the previously mentioned issues could be introduced by governments and international organizations via investing enough funds in the development and extensive growth of rural and remote areas. To cut a long story short, there should be constructed more roads, so that it is convenient for people to reside in small villages, not leaving them forever, and commute to nearby towns to work or entertain themselves. The creation of more public amenities and places for entertainment and education in towns and even villages, as well as the renovation and construction of infrastructure, may well make the difference and alter the current grim situation for the better.

In light of the above, one can draw an inescapable conclusion that most of the diverse conundrums brought about by rapid urbanization occurring today appear to be manageable on the condition that certain smart and radical strategies are applied.