As countries become more industrialised, more people move from the countryside into urban areas. What are some problems caused by this and how can we solve them?

Admittedly, the very fact that a growing number of people born in the countryside decide to reside in cities and metropolises leads to several significant issues of different kinds. To begin with, fewer and fewer people are willing to work in farms and fields. This, in turn, results in a shortage of agricultural production and, therefore, the prices for meat, vegetables, fruit and dairy products soar, inasmuch as demand begins to significantly exceed supply, thereby activating the very basic economic principles that affect price formation in the market. Additionally, another problem that stems from the discussed tendency is that many regions in a country start to develop and grow disproportionally: economic activity in cities thrives, while some rural areas become economically depressed, causing a number of other subsequent issues. Moreover, the population in villages and small towns grows older and shrinks. However, cities, in contrast, become overpopulated, with many traffic congestions occurring on the city roads and public places becoming too crowded.

However serious the predicaments outline above may be, most of them could be dealt with via a series of sensible measures. First of all, agricultural processes could be automated and modernised, requiring fewer people to complete mundane physically demanding tasks and increasing the volumes of harvest without the need to employ many people, which seems to be utterly problematic owing to the discussed rural-to-urban migration. Yet, innovative machines and technologies required for said modernisation will certainly necessitate highly qualified socialists, thereby making working in agriculture more prestigious and well-paid. Another reasonable solution that could tackle some of the previously mentioned issues could be introduced by governments and international organizations via investing sufficient funds in the development and extensive growth of rural and remote areas. To cut a long story short, there should be constructed more roads, so that it is convenient for people to reside in small villages, not leaving them forever, and commute to nearby towns to work or entertain themselves. The appearances of more public amenities and places for entertainment and education in towns and even villages, as well as the renovation and construction of infrastructures, may well make the difference and alter the current grim situation for the better.