As countries become more industrialised, more people move from the countryside into urban areas. What are some problems caused by this and how can we solve them?

In this day and age, the ongoing industrialization in many states around the globe is accompanied by urbanization. Obviously, the mentioned processes have led to some significant issues related to overpopulation and the decline of local economies, yet they can be solved applying wise strategies concerning infrastructure improvements in big cities as well as the development of rural areas.

Admittedly, the constant people’s migration from small towns and villages to more industrialized areas has resulted in overcrowding in large cities. Consequently, urban residents have encountered a series of inconveniences, such as busy streets, heavy traffic and long queues, especially when it comes to hospitals and some state services. Additionally, due to this tendency, the existing issue of parking private vehicles, particularly in the city center, has been exacerbated. Furthermore, remote regions and rural territories have experienced a serious crisis as a great number of people have left their hometown in order to find a decent job and climb a career ladder in a metropolis. As a result, this trend has made many regions depressed, thereby hampering the development of small businesses and devastating the local economies. Evidently, these negative outcomes have caused a whole chain of further problems affecting the unemployment rate and well-being of citizens overall.

Nevertheless, the problematic aspects stated above may well be tackled on the condition that one implements consistent and efficient policies in many vectors. Basically, the challenges connected with commuting, road congestion and parking spaces can only be resolved taking drastic measures and introducing major infrastructural projects. In other words, the authorities are bound to widen and modernize the present infrastructures while constructing new road and rail networks, service centers, medical, educational and public establishments. As regards reviving the depressed and devastated provinces, the government must carry out a campaign which could attract investors to set up their business outlets and start highly technological production in these regions, thus creating many well-paid jobs and modernizing these terrains. Besides, more funds from the state budget should be contributed towards rural and remote parts of a country to reform local economic systems and provide all essential amenities; therefore, the youth will be encouraged to live there and add up to the regional development.

In conclusion, although the urbanization trend has brought about a lot of negative consequences, they can be dealt with by carrying out some grand projects.