As countries develop, more and more people buy and use their cars. Do you think the advantages of this trend for individuals outweigh its disadvantages for environment?

Nowadays, as a result of developed conditions in many nations, the population has increased use of private cars and tends to purchase them more and more. Some people assume that, from an individual perspective, there are certain significant advantages. However, I believe that negative outcomes from an environmental perspective are superior to any oppositions.

On one hand, there can be some beneficial purposes of using private vehicles. It is an undeniable fact that private cars bring more convenience to their drivers compared to harsh conditions in public transport. For instance, citizens can be more flexible in their time management by just owning a car. This is because of the turbulent lifestyle in many developed towns around the world, which demands its population to stay informed and out-to-dated. Moreover, by demanding the production of cars, individuals can massively contribute to the growth of economy of the country. Indeed, automobile industry is deeply integrated in global economy, and by increasing its role, people can create new jobs in manufacturing these cars. For example, in Germany, where the automobile industry is vital for the government, local companies need millions of workers to promote their business.

On the other hand, more detrimental consequences are resulting from this action. At a societal level, the surge in private car usage has made it almost impossible to breathe fresh air in the centers of many modern cities due to the constant emission of fumes. Furthermore, frequent traffic congestion further exacerbates the problem by creating noise pollution, which makes urban atmosphere nearly chaotic. As a result, the factor of increased car usage leads to these problematic conditions in many flourished city towns. Furthermore, on the global level, car fumes contribute to disastrous outcomes such as global warming and ozone layer destruction. This is because an increased amount of greenhouse gases remains in the Earth’s atmosphere, not releasing into space. This would subsequently lead to problems such as melting of icebergs and increased temperature on our planet.

To sum up, not only car fumes are distracting local citizens by causing some problems in breathing and noise pollution, but also are creating huge problems to the environment. Considering some advantages from individual aspects, I remain convinced that disadvantages greatly outweigh opposites.