As housing is a basic need for people, government should provide free housing for everyone who cannot afford it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, housing has become a topic of discussions because the rise in property price has led to an increase in homelessness. Therefore, it is argued that people living in poor conditions should be offered free accommodation by the government. I would argue against this proposal, despite acknowledging the reasons underpinning it.

On the one hand, it helps protect their health and reduce crime rates. Firstly, by providing housing, living standards of homeless people gradually improve because they can avoid the harsh weather conditions and diseases, thereby reducing their reliance on medical infrastructure. The result is that the government can lessen the burden and save money. Secondly, free housing for homeless people can encourage them to give up robbery and begging, and focus on finding jobs and improving their mental health. Thus, housing security is improved and they can increase social stability.

On the other hand, this is an impractical solution in terms of economics. This can be explained by the fact that to provide free accommodation not only needs a huge amount of money and resources but also related to other issues like building and management. This can cause a budget deficit for the government. Therefore, heavy taxes may be levied on individuals and businesses. Furthermore, other social developments like investing in education, medical can be delayed. Another reason is that although poor people don’t try hard, they also have their home so that it makes them rely on the government. It leads to the dissatisfaction and anger of some people in society.

In conclusion, although this issue has many benefits on protecting homeless people’s health and reducing crime rates, I contend that it should not be encouraged due to the risk posed to the country’s finances. However, the government should create more opportunities for them to improve their life.