As housing is a basic need for people, government should provide free housing for everyone who cannot afford it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that some people think that government should provide the poverty with free houses. While the policy brings benefits for this people, but I believe that the policy is not feasible.

One the one hand, it will threat society and individual development if a government provide the houses no charge to people who cannot afford it. Firstly, the policy will hinder the economy of a country. Since government must invest more fund in building new houses so that the every poverty can own a house. Nevertheless, it is no doubt that the economical pressure of government will be increased. Another disadvantage of the policy is that the policy will influence the public’s awareness. People may want to abandon their jobs to enjoy a lazy life. It is because that they think they still have a house to live although they do not have income so that the social atmosphere will be influenced by the laziness.

On the other hand, people can benefit form the policy. At first, these houses provided by government will satisfy the basic needs of the poverty. And their quality of life will be improved so that the numbers of homeless on streets will be decreased. It lead that the rate of crime will be cut, such as robing and stealing. However, the policy just can solve the problems in a short time and in few people. And for other needs, such as foods and clothes, still cannot be satisfied.

In conclusion, I disagree that the free houses should be provided by the government. Since the drawbacks of the policy outweigh much than its advantages.