As housing is a basic need for people, government should provide free housing for everyone who cannot afford it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people are of the opinion that providing free accommodations should be done by governments because it is of paramount importance for individuals, especially those who cannot pay for it. Personally, I totally disagree with this school of thought, based on various reasons.

Admittedly, there are two primary reasons for this policy. Firstly, people could be granted the right to improve their living standards. Since today’s housing prices are exorbitantly expensive, many individuals couldn’t afford their own houses, and homeless people may face with severe external issues, such as harsh weather conditions. As a result, free accommodations would be an ideal solution to alleviate poverty and enhance citizens’ living quality. By the same token, this implementation could be a driver of economic growth. If individuals are granted access to free housing, they might participate in the workforce proactively. Therefore, these people can pursue career prospects as well as contribute to the increase in employment rates.

However, this statement fails to consider the potential risks related to finances and society. First, this policy could put a great strain on states’ budgets. Since governments may have to cover various expenses, not only to develop essential amenities, such as hospital facilities, but also well-fare among citizens. These contributing factors can bring a great financial burden to a country, thereby resulting in social dissatisfaction and unfair treatment, among others. Furthermore, those who can be given free accommodations would be overly dependent on the authorities’ responsibility. Many people may claim that the responsibility of providing houses is a must for governments; without this funding, these individuals may lose faith in their state officials. This problem might provoke various demonstrations and riots againt governments, leading to serious social unrest.

In conclusion, while there are two main reasons why housing should be given free by states, including improving living standards and promoting employment rates, I believe that there are more serious risks associated with this policy, such as over-reliance and financial burden.