As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The proposed statement presents a topic that has been part of a larger debate about technology for the past few years. There are several elements to this discussion, but in relation to the specific topic that is presented, I find the statement agreeable to an extent.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that nowadays, a larger number of people check the latest news on their smartphones or on other devices with an internet connection, such as laptops and tablets, rather than by reading a physical newspaper. Other than being more practical, since it does not involve having to go out and buy a paper, this also allows people to have quicker access to updated information throughout the day, especially in regard to situations in continuous evolution, for instance an ongoing conflict or stock market data. These are just few of the reasons why newspapers are likely to become less and less popular as time goes on, risking that in the future their production will be permanently halted.

On the other hand, however, there are several individuals who still read newspapers daily. This could be attributed to a number of factors: for instance, there is a widespread difficulty for the elderly to familiarize with modern-day technology, which encourages them to stick to their old habits. Additionally, the internet is unfortunately flooded with unverified information, while newspapers are more likely to only publish intel that has been corroborated by a series of sources. Finally, there is the nostalgic feeling of holding a newspaper in your hands and flipping through its pages.

To conclude, I agree with the statement because, as time passes, most people are probably going to continue reading the news on their electronic devices, with newspapers losing more and more popularity. However, there are advantages to the old-fashioned papers, which is why I do not believe that they will soon become a thing of the past.