As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, people can easily get information about the world around them by accessing a wide range of different sources of information. Therefore, traditional newspapers are progressively losing their popularity and attractiveness especially to the young audience.

While in the past written news were the only form to keep informed about what was going on in one’s city and in the world, the availability of specialized websites, YouTube channels, and social media have been making this traditional source obsolete.

I believe that the inevitable path to innovation and continuous progress will increasingly reduce the usage of newspapers for several reasons.

First of all, the environmental impact and the associated cost of producing paper-based information has been pushing conscious readers toward the Internet, as well as less polluting information means. Secondly, the incredibly accelerated pace to which the world changes and the need for adaptability of many citizens in modern societies makes indispensable to always have an updated and easy access to the news. Thirdly, younger generations spend a large amount of time glued to the screen either of their smartphones or their laptops, thus, preferring to directly read their news on the same tool.

Finally, news is increasingly becoming entertainment in order to make an easily distracted audience pay attention as much as possible, which would be impossible on paper.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that newspapers are old-fashioned and I expect them to disappear in the next decade. However, I think that Internet-based information means should ensure their target audience trustful and bullet-proof sources, especially when reporting about sensitive topics such as economics, politics and wars.