As water is valuable resource, governments all over the world should control how much water their citizens use. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement ?

Water is an indispensable resource, and this matter is crucially accessible to both ecosystems and individuals. With the increasing climate change and population, available water resources are becoming limited. For this reason, citizens’ awareness about water consumption should be raised, and governments need to lead citizens in managing the water used.

In some regions, water is not sufficient as a resource, while in some regions the existing water is used unconsciously. For example, watering the garden, washing vehicles, or unconscious and excessive irrigation in agricultural areas. These kinds of attitudes are increasingly damaging the existence of water resources. Not only the misuse of water, but also an inequitable water access system can cause problems. For example, water can be supplied to areas with a water supply system, while areas without a water supply system may be left without water.

The fact that water is a precious resource, and the current problems show that there is a need for an authority for water management. Governments have important powers to raise awareness of their citizens and enforce rules. For example, it can organize various advertisements, events, or trainings on water use. It can also prevent waste by imposing charges on citizens based on water use. It can impose penalties for pollution of water resources and unconscious consumption. It can make legal arrangements to ensure the sustainability of water used in industrial, individual, and agricultural areas and to prevent inequality in water use. It can also provide support for research and new technologies developed for the conservation and sustainability of available water.

In conclusion, water is a limited resource and very important for the continuity of life. For this reason, governments, especially citizens, should be very careful in water use.