Automation will create more jobs than it destroys. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this digital era, automation has become widespread due to the development of technological advancement throughout the past decades. This makes more people, including myself believe that it will provide more job opportunities than it removes. The essay aims to delve into both sides of the coin and give personal perspective by arguing that automation brings more benefits than its drawbacks.

On the one hand, automation machinery plays a crucial role in productivity of companies and businesses. Without having a day off or a bonus, this effective machine tool, displacing the low-skilled labour, has saved milions of dollars in paying for salary, boosting the economy, and mitigated arguments between managers and employees. Moreover, the application of automation encourages the working labour reskilling, adapting to the technological revolution. In addition, more job opportunities related to automation and technology appear, such as AI engineer or sales automation specialist.

On the other hand, the introduction of automation accelerates the unemployment rate in manual work, especially in routine repetitive tasks. Currently, in developed countries, such as China, self-driving drones have popularly applied in delivering goods, which leads to the rate of customers ordering in traditional ways decrease gradually. As a result, thousands delivery men face unemployment because their manual works are replaced by automated systems, bridging the income inequality gap between wealth individuals and people from disadvantaged group.

In conclusion, although the application of automation increases the unemployment rate in manual labour, including traditional delivery men, I firmly believe that it creates more careers, especially in developing Artificial Intelligence and automation.