With a growing world population, one of the most pressing issues is that of feeding such a large number of people. Some people think GM food offers a viable solution to this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

To provide a vast number of societies with food is a fairly complicated problem, while population growth is very vibrant. However, while I agree that genetically modified products are a great way to solve a lack of food problem, they may also harm people and the worldwide environment with these products as well.

On the one hand, genetically engineered food has one significant advantage such as potential agricultural productivity increasing with a minimal cost and maximum efficiency. For example, there are lots of scientifically generated products which have already shown higher productivity in comparison with their non-GM versions. Thus, this increased artificial efficiency is essential in the contemporary world where arable land is limited.

On the other hand, the potential of GM food is not fully discovered yet, so it might be dangerous for people’s health and the overall environment. The biggest part of people has unexplored allergies, which can be triggered by the antibiotics added into these products. These are the transfer of a known allergen that may occur from a crop into a non-allergenic target crop.

To conclude, GM products are an effective solution to nourish people in case of demographic growth, however, as I think, it is a new concept and we have not enough data to predict the further effect over a long period.