Being able to speak a foreign language is an advantage these days. Some people think that children should start learning a foreign language at primary school, while others think children should begin in secondary school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Today, communicating in a foreign language is often seen as a vital skill that everyone needs to possess. Language learning is a process which requires a start at a proper stage, however, there are contrasting views on when it is better for children to be exposed to it. For some individuals, early start is more important, particularly in primary education, while secondary education is seen to be more appropriate by others. Although both sides have reliable arguments, I agree with the first view. (I agree that the earlier they are immersed in it, the better the results will be). Both views will be discussed as well as my opinion.

On the one hand, advocates of a later start argue that there are several factors that make secondary school perfect. Firstly, children are usually teenagers during this period, which means they have gained a sufficient vocabulary base in their first languages. Therefore, exposure to another language would not cause them any strain or any speech related problems because they already know some abstract notions in native language. As a result, they can easily relate new information to what they already have and can even compare the differences in both languages. Reaching an adequate level of mental development is another reason that secondary schoolchildren tend to have reached a milestone which can help them analyze and comprehend complex ideas which cannot be explained without sufficient life understanding.

On the other hand, I agree with those who believe immersion in primary school years is more likely to help children in the long run. Throughout this phase, children are quite young, and they have fresh language learning experience. This newly acquired skill can assist them in the continuous path of another language before they must deal with other mental developmental processes such as the change in their attention span and their physiology. Hence, they do not worry about making mistakes because they do not always understand that they are making one and this, in turn, helps them to be more confident to communicate in another language. Moreover, children are eager to explore new things as their curiosity levels are higher compared to those of older ones. Basic vocabulary learning might appear to be fascinating for them when they learn to name objects in different languages. This early learning poses benefits like effortless input and a good command of a foreign language with flexibility and spontaneity which they mostly need in future lives.

In conclusion, an adequate mental step and a sufficiently acquired native language are believed by some to be most vital arguments to start, but I agree that learning a language should start as early as possible to gain most of its benefits when they have curiosity and fresh minds.