Being able to speak a foreign language is an advantage these days. Some people think that children should start learning a foreign language at primary school, while others think children should begin in secondary school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often said that many people are drawing attention to the advantages of the ability to speak a foreign language in the current society. In fact, there are some people who believe that beginning to learn a foreign language at primary school is the most reasonable. However, others argue convincingly that it is great to start in secondary school. Therefore, some major points in relation to the above issue will be addressed in the following paragraphs.

On the one hand, there are two primary points for people to defend the former argument. A child is taken up learning a foreign language at primary school, which is better. First, it is a well-documented fact that at this stage, a foreign language can easily be obtained by a child. The most obvious example to prove is that they talk naturally based on what the teachers teach them; they have good flexibility in pronunciation and grammar assimilation. Second, there is no doubt that starting a foreign language at this age can help children’s developments. For instance, it helps children to build confidence and communication, increasing language ability.

On the other hand, there are two main points for other people to support the latter argument. Children should take up learning a foreign language in secondary school. First and foremost, it is commonly accepted that students can handle the complexities of grammar and vocabulary. A clear example being found to prove is that structures, or the special situation, are the different use of each one; in addition, they also have the foundation and some knowledge about the culture, society, and so forth. Moreover, there is no denying that students have more options for their purposes in learning a foreign language because being bilingual is not easy; it takes time, so at this moment they can select any languages with methods that are suitable for them and really effective. This is supported by the fact that they can choose English, Chinese, French, or others with some methods, such as the shadowing technique, dictation, and so on.

In conclusion, it is my strong belief that starting a foreign language still has its own values and is more beneficial for the future generations. Accordingly, I highly recommend that the governments should enhance people’s awareness with regards to the advantages of beginning a foreign language early in the global connection world these days. If this recommendation is carried out, the comprehensive development of our society will be ensured.