Being able to speak a foreign language is an advantage these days. Some people think that children should start learning a foreign language at primary school, while others think children should begin in secondary school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Being bilingual or multilingual is of great significance in the continually globalized world. While some argue that secondary school is the utmost period to begin acquiring a new language, I personally favor that languages can be more effectively learnt whilst primary school years.

It is argued by some people that children should be taught a different language starting from secondary school owing to several reasons. First, proponents believe that primary school students may feel overwhelmed and under pressure when they are expected to acquire a new language considering their ages. Parents should wait their offsprings to reach a certain age period for being prepared to be a bilingual. Children at primary school, furthermore, are anticipated to engage in more effective activities, namely drawing, dancing, reading and exercising which will not make them as exhausted as acquiring a second language. Engaging in these activities may trigger healthier and accurate development of students compared to teaching a new language.

Despite the benefits, I contend the idea of commencing to learn a new language during primary school years. First, during this age range children’s brains are very likely to obtain and retain information far more strongly than any other age. The earlier they start learning, the easier children may acquire information, which, in turn, enhances their linguistic skills for the future. Moreover, it should also be considered that study load of courses surges when starting secondary school classes. For instance, students may struggle to deal with learning the English language at school as they need to prepare numerously new classes, such as physics, biology and chemistry, impeding their learning process.

Briefly, even though a group of people is in favor of teaching new languages while children study at secondary school, I personally support implementing it earlier in elementary school years.