Beside a lot of advantages, some people believe that the Internet creates many problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In contemporary milieu, the internet is considered to have many advantages, however there is an opinion that it also brings a vast array of issues alongside. I am in absolute solidarity with this belief.

To start with, it should be emphasized that with rapid improvement of the internet, face-to-face communications has dramatically decreased. Starting with last two decades, people have started to prefer mostly online communications, rather than in real life. For example, if we compare how two different generations spent their spare time, we could observe that members of the older generation spent their free time doing outdoor activities, meanwhile the younger generation prefer indoor activities.

Secondly, it should be noted that a huge and undue controlled network of the internet can be a source to numerous viruses. We can observe a big number of different websites that offer different services, and sometimes an exact age group, as retired individuals above 60 years, and youngsters between 13 and 18 years are becoming the victims of cyberattacks. For instance, Ministry of Internal Affairs of Azerbaijani Republic had to set a new department on combating cybercrimes to decrease the level of relevant crimes and increase legal understanding of population.

Another point to consider is that increasing usage of technologies to access the internet leads to anomalies in people’s health. Individuals become more likely to lead sedentary lifestyle, that also leads to obesity. Also, it is not good on our eyes, as it is a reason for a bad eyesight, often headaches, and problems with spine. For example, recent studies in UK in 2021 showed that children between 7 and 14 years, using technologies to gain access to the internet had more chances to have problems with eyesight and more likely to suffer from obesity.

I agree with the statement, that the internet can be a source for various problems, as it leads to decrease of face-to-face communication, cyberattacks, and health problems.