Bloodsports have become a hot topic for debate in recent years. As society develops it is increasingly seen as an uncivilized activity and cruel to the helpless animals that are killed. All blood sports should be banned. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Bloodsports have been a controversial topic for the general public recently. It is undeniably present throughout the history of mankind, dating back to the BCEs. Many people have different views with regard to the question of whether we should ban bloodsports or not. Some people think that the sport carries cultural heritage and therefore should be adhered to. I would argue that animal slaughter for the purpose of entertainment is taboo in regard to both moral aspects and practicality. This essay will discuss the implications of bloodsports and its’ blasphemous nature.

To start off, animal slaughter is already a sensitive topic for people. The argument that animals are sentient beings capable of experiencing pain and fear has been regurgitated numerous times. Not to mention the fact that bloodsports includes the aspect of entertainment. With humanity evolving, people have come to realize that bloodsports are nothing but needless bloodshed and cruelty, lots are vehemently opposed to the very nature of the ‘sport’. Native Americans that conduct bloodsports are now publicly denounced and isolated from society with little hopes of returning.

Bloodsports often pick a specific breed of animal to fight pit them against each other. This is a direct cause for population imbalance for the ecosystem, upsetting the very nature of predator-prey. This will indefinitely have a cascading effect on other species that rely on the targeted animal for resource or some purpose.

Overall, the very nature of bloodsports should be considered taboo. It is undeniably suitable for the early evolution stages of humanity, where barbarism is still the norm. But in the 21st century, the age of civilization is upon us. To spread the word, we should impose on the fact that animal slaughter for the purpose of entertainment is blasphemy and should not be conducted under any circumstances.