Both government investment in public transport systems and reductions in public transport ticket prices will help to reduce transport pollution greatly. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

With the populational boom worldwide that took place since the Industrial Revolution, logistics have been a general concern. Traffic has been increasing, consequently increasing levels of pollution, mainly in the big cities. An alternative thought for that is regarding the use of public transportation, once it could help reducing the CO2 emissions substancially. From my point of view, I agree that one way to foment this modal of transportation would be focusing government investment, but I don’t think applying subsides in order to reduce the ticket prices will solve the issue. In this essay, I will bring to light some of the reasons for that.

Firstly, it is important to address why people choose to commute by their own means rather than using the public transportation mean. Most of the complaints can be regarding the public transportation’s safety and reliability, not about the cost of the service. Many people can feel insecure taking the train or the bus, once there are more people sharing the trip with each other. Due to that, one important way to incentive people to use the public transportation is improving the security of it, hiring more people to look out for safety measure in train stations or even installing cameras on bus stops or train stations.

Additionally, another thing that has room for improvement is concerning its reliability. People many times don’t use the public transportation, worrying about if services will normally running or if it will show any inconveniences. Investments from the government should be made so its operational resiliency and efficiency is improved.

To summaryze, main concerns of people about taking trains and buses are its safety and reliability, but not its cost. That is why investments from the government on these two focus areas could foment its use over private means better than offering subsides to reduce the ticket prices.