Both government investment in public transport systems and reductions in public transport ticket prices will help to reduce transport pollution greatly. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Crowded and unmanaged transportation system has emerged as a serious problem lately which is leading to transport pollution. In order to overcome this situation, I believe, there is a vital role to be played by the government. The government should focus on investing in non-private transport systems and at the same time, it should consider lowering the ticket prices of buses, taxis and trains.

Firstly, the government should introduce policies to promote electric transport since, electricity is considered as one of the cleanest form of energies. When buses, cars and trains which utilize non renewable energy such as coal, diesel and petrol, it causes air pollution. Hence, replacing them with electric vehicles will not only decrease air pollution but also reduce sound pollution since, electricity operated transport produce comparatively less sound than petrol or diesel operated engines.

Similarly, if the government reduces the fare of public vehicles, citizens would be convinced to use them rather than to waste their hard-earned money in buying a car and covering its maintenance cost. When the number of vehicles in roads are lower, it would consequently minimize not only the sound pollution but also the air pollution as the amount of harmful gases emitted by transport will be significantly low.

However, the deniable fact is that some minority of people are still likely to own cars despite of having advanced public transportation systems. They rejoice to buy luxurious cars and expand their collections.

To conclude, all the three bodies of a country: the legislation, the executive and the judiciary should invest in public transport systems along with the minimization in ticket prices to control the pollution caused by transport.