Both government investment in public transport systems and reductions in public transport ticket prices will help to reduce transport pollution greatly. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, pollution has become an increasingly major problem for our planet’s ecosystem, with private transport being an important source of contamination for the environment. This essay will agree with the statement because the government should implement measures to help mitigate environmental problems.

First of all, it is clearly undeniable that with the improvement of public transport systems, many people will be more enthusiastic to travel by these means of transportation. This means fewer vehicles will be moving around the city causing traffic congestion, leading to fewer traffic crashes. In addition, it is an efficient way to lower fossil emission levels that private cars originate. For example, in Europe, electric trains produce up to 80% less CO2 per passenger than cars, showing how trains can greatly cut down on pollution.

Secondly, public transportation can be beneficial for a large number of people due to its capacity to carry a higher amount of passengers all at once. Furthermore, with the price reduction, students and other vulnerable sectors of society will benefit from this. For example, individuals on a tight budget benefit greatly from this. They cannot afford to own a vehicle or pay for private transportation, such as taxis and Ubers, to reach their destination every day.

To conclude, fossil fuel emissions caused by means of transportation can ultemately have a significant impact on Earth’s ecosystem. I strongly believe that allocating funds to improve public transportation systems not only reduces pollution, but also encourages people to prioritize public means over private ones.