Both government investment in public transport systems and reductions in public transport ticket prices will help to reduce transport pollution greatly. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, governments financially support public transport and lowering the price of public transport is helping with the reduction of transport pollution massively. I agree with this statement and in this essay I will elaborate on this to a certain extent.

Firstly, it is well known that choosing public transport is much better for the environment than driving with your car around. Reducing the price of public transportation leads to more demand for these kinds of tickets. In addition, more people can now afford a ticket than before the reduction. Therefore, traveling by car is becoming less attractive, due to the fact that choosing public transportation is probably cheaper now. Picking public transport over traveling by car is, as I mentioned, way more sustainable. As a result, the transport pollution will reduce significantly.

Furthermore, governments investment in public transportation can have the effect of making more trains, buses, and metros available. For this reason, there will be more space for everyone, making the public transport also more comfortable and attractive to choose.

However, some travelers are not able to choose public transport, due to disabilities or other extraordinary circumstances. Those people do have to pick the car, which is not efficient for the environment, but understandable.

In conclusion, taking everything into consideration, I do believe that because of investments of governments in public transport and reductions in public transport prices will help to reduce transport pollution greatly. It is becoming more efficient for people to choose this kind of transportation and leave the car behind, as a result, the pollution will decrease significantly.