Bullying is a big problem in many schools. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

How to properly assuage and eliminate bullying in schools is a long-debated issue. The causes that elicit such violent events are often deep-rooted in children’s personal experiences and finding a catch-all solution is more imaginary than practical. However, a set of precautions and actions can be instated to tackle the problem and reduce risks to their limits.

Bullying sparks from a combination of psychological and socio-economic conditions that favor manifestations of aggression and raptures. The environment in which a child is brought up plays a fundamental role in defining their behaviors in social contexts. For example, due to bad education received at home, bullies are often taught to be wary of differences in appearance and behaviors, inciting fear and hate towards others.

From a more psychological point of view, instead, aggression can be understood as a manifestation of someone’s dissatisfaction and feelings of being lost in oneself. As a result, these children might take their frustrations out on others, especially on more vulnerable classmates.

While a general solution does not exist yet, it is crucial to organize and provide education plans and programs aimed at raising awareness about this social issue and encouraging open-mindedness toward who we might perceive as different. A strong collaboration between schools and families is also pivotal to addressing the problem: teachers and parents must agree on educational strategies and directions to avoid creating more confusion for children. Lastly, when necessary, academic repercussions should also be considered, which might function as alarm flags and wake-up calls.

In conclusion, bullying comes from many different psychological and social factors, unique to each child. No general solution exists, but a strong collaboration between families and schools and awareness of the matter is crucial to mitigating the problem.