By punishing murderer with the death penalty, society it also guilty of committing murder. Therefore, life in prison it a better punishment for murderers. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Could death penalty be considered as an appropriate punishment for murderers? If we are allowing death penalty to be practiced, what makes us different from the murderer?

In my opinion, the society should strongly disagree with the practice of death penalty as a means of punishment for murderers. Any punishment should aim to teach guilty individuals and improve their behavior. Murderers, like any individual who commits crime, should be given the opportunity to learn from their mistakes. I did not think murderers will always commit the crime intentionally and with a plan to kill the victim. Some incidents, like short-term disputes, can result in debilitating damages and even death.

The society will benefit nothing by penalizing a guilty individual to death. How would we have to feel innocent after we support the death penalty of murderers? I will rather feel to be guilty for the individual’s death, if I am in favor of this law. This is because such laws usually came through various stages of discussions to be enacted; that is intentional and planned murdering of the ‘murderer’.

Life in prison would be an ideal punishment for murderers. When they are put in prison for lifelong, they can learn from their past mistake/s. They can even become valuable assets to the community as they may have good skills in some fields. They can contribute to the development of a nation even though they are living in a confined area.

In conclusion, I condemn the implementation of death penalty of murderers; life in prison would rather be beneficial for both the individual and the community at large.