By punishing murderer with the death penalty, society it also guilty of committing murder. Therefore, life in prison it a better punishment for murderers. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

I strongly believe that punishing murderers with death penalty is the right course of action. In today’s world, where violence is widespread, it essential to stop the criminals who stop at nothing. It is a no brainer that death penalties save lives, they threaten criminals which stops them from committing such heinous crimes. Moreover, through death penalties we can give out a loud and clear message regarding the consequences of such crimes.

If a murderer was not punished to death not only would there be a chance of murdering someone again, they would also be influencing those around them. Gradually, the murder rates will increase because criminals would think that it is easy to escape such a crime. Moreover, punishing murderers with anything other than death will not do much good. Jail is not that hard of a punishment and as mentioned before as they will probably influence their cell mates. Hence, they are more likely follow the same path as earlier.

In an interview with some captured criminals, one said, “I wanted to kill him on spot but if I did I would have to face a death penalty”. So, it is clear that death penalties save many lives by instilling a fear in the mind of criminals.

In conclusion, it is not the society who is guilty of committing murder but the murderer themselves. If they choose to commit such a crime despite knowing its consequences, they are murdering themselves. People need to learn to take responsibility of their actions and death penalties are a way to do the same.