Car drivers and cyclists share the same roads, and this can cause problems for both of them. Why is this the case? What measures can be taken to solve these problems?

In this day and age, the number of accidents on the roads has been skyrocketed when cyclists and vehicle drivers share the same lane. Primary causes are careless drivers from both categories and improper road planning by the government. But, the situation could ameliorate if the state takes appropriate safety steps.

In slow-moving traffic, accidents take place when cyclists overtake a car by pedaling past them. To put it another way, accidents occur in cases when car-drivers alter lanes all of a sudden without checking their mirrors before they change direction. In addition, there have been cyclists hit by motorists at night times because of cyclists not having their lights on. Having said that, the condition of some roads is not flat and cyclists as well as car-drivers may throw in deep potholes.

However, there are hands-on solutions to impede these conflicts. For one thing, cyclists need to think twice before overtaking four-wheelers. In cases where the car is travelling at great speed, the cyclist must not strive to overtake the vehicle. Furthermore, car drivers need to look at the signs of the expressways once they are driving. Cyclists need to be wary of the road circumstances before they utilize it. The government must implement separate lanes for cyclists and motorists and punish anyone who bypasses the lanes.

In conclusion, accidents occur due to carelessness of the drivers from the both categories and improper road planning. These problems could be solved by implementing strict regulations and separate lanes for cyclists and motorists and careful driving from both ends.